Brian Lund and Dan Maca Celebrate Six Years on the Commonwealth Employee Ownership Committee

Feb 20, 2024

By Cathy Maddox – Ownership Coordinator | Corporate

The Commonwealth Ownership Committee was created in 2017, the same year Commonwealth became employee-owned and adopted an Employee Stock Ownership Plan (ESOP). The committee’s primary aim is to inform and educate employee-owners about the advantages and benefits of being part of an employee-owned company.

When the committee was formed, the original objective was to include representatives from every location. However, as some areas, such as Des Moines, IA, and Omaha, NE, required more than one representative, the committee has expanded accordingly. Committee members commit to a term of three years, with an optional additional three-year term available. There have been four members who have been on the committee since its inception: Brian Lund and Dan Maca from the Omaha office; Cathy Maddox, who is the chairperson and represents our Corporate location in Lincoln, NE; and LeAnn Whitehead, who is located at the Exposition and Trade Services (Expo) Division in Phoenix, AZ, and will continue on the committee as a co-member of our Expo division.

Brian Lund (L)  and Dan Maca (R)

We’d like to take this opportunity to thank Brian and Dan for serving on the committee for six years. Dan has set up the yearly March Mania contest, which has been a huge hit with employees and has benefited numerous philanthropic efforts. Brian is an officer of The ESOP Association Iowa/Nebraska Chapter serving in the Advocacy Role and will keep the chapter informed about any legislative efforts in Washington, D.C., that may affect ESOP companies in general.

Thanks to you both for your dedication to the Ownership Committee. Your efforts to educate our employee-owners and instill our culture of ownership—as well as your commitment to learning more about ESOPs and passing on that knowledge—are very much appreciated!

More Recent News